Houston is a city in Texas, the US, with the highest population. Here, the charges of aggravated assault come under the category of a felony offense. If you are convicted of it, you may have to pay a considerable fine, may be put into prison, or have a felony written on your record. To ensure that the Houston laws treat you fairly, you will need the expertise of a Houston Assault Lawyer, who will work hard for people’s rights accused of assault.
But before you head on to find a competent lawyer, it’s essential to first understand aggravated assault laws in Houston.
Definition of Aggravated Assault in Houston Law
The aggravated assault offense is defined in Houston as per the Texas Panel Code Section 22. One can be charged with an aggravated assault if a severe injury is caused to the victim and if the assaulter used a weapon for the assault.
A severe injury is considered to be one that is physical and has a substantial risk of permanent disability or death. It also includes an injury that causes impairment of a body organ or loss of a body part.
When you talk about the weapon used for aggravated assault, it is not limited to a knife or a gun. Any object that the assaulter used to physically harm the victim can be defined as a weapon. Hitting the victim with a rock can also be considered as an assault weapon. Plastic bags, coffee pots, walking canes, flashlights, VCRs, cars, or anything used to inflict injury to a person are considered a deadly weapon.
Penalties for an Aggravated Assault Under Houston Law
In Harris County, aggravated assault can be 1st degree or 2nd degree, for which there are different penalties and punishments as per law. A charge of aggravated assault is usually 2nd degree, for which the assaulter may have to pay a penalty of $10,000 or maybe imprisoned for 2 to 20 years.
1st degree of aggravated assault is more serious, which includes the following:
- The defendant being a relative or domestic companion of the victim
- The defendant being an on-duty public servant at the time of the assault
- The victim being an on-duty public servant at the time of assault
- The victim being a crime witness, informant, security guard, or an emergency service worker
- Defendant using a deadly weapon to cause the assault and give serious injury to the victim
- Defendant causing assault in retaliation or exercise official power over the victim
For 1st degree aggravated assault charge, the assaulter may have to pay a penalty of $10,000 and/or imprisonment for 5 to 99 years in Houston and the rest of Texas. If you have been charged with the crime of aggravated assault in Houston, you may have to undergo the following consequences under the law:
- You may not be able to get a job, car loan, or accommodation in Houston
- You may lose custody of your children
- You may be denied citizenship of the US if you are a foreigner
- You may lose your right to have a firearm
- You may lose your right to serve on jury
If you have been charged with aggravated assault in Houston, it’s important to seek help from a Houston Assault Lawyer specialized and experienced in assault laws and cases. They will use their skills and experience to fight for your legal rights and help you face criminal charges against you. Contact a lawyer today and know your options.